How did I end up here?

It’s  +1C behind the window and no snow. In the morning I was running around without a jacket and the deerskin boots feel way to warm.

Just yesterday I was in Khanty-Mansiysk so how did I end up in Moscow today?

As my Khanty-Mansiysk trip was coming to the end I started looking at the options to move further north to Salekhard. This name might tell you nothing but it’s the administrative center of Yamalo-Nenets Autonomous Okrug, the city that stands on the 66th parallel which is right on the polar circle. 

Image

 

If you look on the map it’s just a bit more then 600 km to the north from Khanty-Mansiysk. So if you drive let’s say 100km per hour you can get there in 6 hours. The only problem is that there’s no road. Yes, the land transportation is limited to big trucks going along the river bed in winter only and along the river bed it’s around 900 km which usually takes a day.

Image

 

Now, as I’m not abtruck driver I looked at the flights and realized that all of them are via Moscow and usually have 2 lay overs. You would not believe  but the cheeps, easiest and fastest way to go from Khanty-Mansiysk to Salekhard ended to be via Surgut and Moscow.

So instead of 600 km I’m covering 4310 km using two flights and one bus ride. Salekhard! You’d better be worth this effort! Jk =)

Image

 

Actually do not mind such a difficult way. Last night in Surgut I felt like at home meeting friends and going for dinner and today I saw no snow outside and was pleasantly surprised that there are already places where the winter is over.

Just a pity that it’s still easier to get let’s say to London from Khanty-Mansiysk then anywhere in Russia except Moscow.

But in a couple of hours I’ll finally be in Salekhard. Nice way to celebrate 4 weeks on the road!

Leave a Reply

